• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      LiMgPO$_4$:Tb$^{3+}$ phosphor; TLD-500; modified solid state method; radiation dosimetry.

    • Abstract


      Polycrystalline sample LiMg$_{(1.x)}$PO$_4$:$x$Tb$^{3+}$ ($x = 0.001, 0.002, 0.005, 0.01, 0.02$) phosphor was synthesized via modified solid state method (MSSM). The prepared sample was characterized through XRD pattern (X-ray diffraction) and SEM (scanning electron microscope). Additionally, photoluminescence (PL), optically stimulated luminescence (OSL), thermoluminescence (TL) and other dosimetric properties including dose linearity, reusability and fading were studied. In OSL mode, sensitivity of prepared phosphor was found to be 2.7 times that of LiMgPO$_4$:Tb$^{3+}, B (BARC) phosphor and 4.3 times that of $\alpha$-Al$_2$O$_3$:C (BARC) phosphor. The TL glow consists of overlapping peaks in temperature range of 50-400$^{\circ}$C and first peak (P$_1$) was observed at 150$^{\circ}$C, second peak (P$_2$) at 238$^{\circ}$C, third peak (P$_3$) at 291$^{\circ}$C and fourth peak (P$_4$) at 356$^{\circ}$C. The TL sensitivity of second peak (P$_2$) of LiMgPO$_4$:Tb$^{3+}$ phosphor was compared with $\alpha$-Al$_2$O$_3$:C (BARC) phosphor and found to be 100 times that of the $\alpha$-Al$_2$O$_3$:C (BARC) phosphor. The minimum detectable dose (MDD) was found to be 5.6 $\mu$Gy. Moreover, photoionization cross-sections, linearity, reusability, fading and kinetic parameters were calculated. Also, photoluminescence spectra of LiMgPO$_4$:Tb$^{3+}$ shows characteristic green.yellow emission exciting at 224nm UV source.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Physics, Sant Gadge Baba Amravati University, Amravati 444602, India
      2. Department of Physics, Toshniwal ACS College, Sengaon, Hingoli 431 542, India
      3. Radiological Physics and Advisory Division, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai 400094, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.