• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Titanium; surface modification; copper nanoparticles; 3-amino propyl triethoxy silane; microbial adhesion.

    • Abstract


      Titanium (Ti) used as condenser material in nuclear power plants encounter severe biofouling in marine environment which in turn affects the efficiency of the metal. To reduce the biofouling by marine microorganisms, surface modification of the Ti was carried out by anodization process to obtain nanotubes (TiO$_2$-NTs). The electrolyte solution containing 1% of ammonium fluoride resulted in uniform growth of TiO$_2$-NTs. TiO$_2$-NTs were furthercoated with chemically synthesized copper nanoparticles (NT-CuNP) using 3-amino propyl triethoxy silane as a coupling agent. NT-CuNP was characterized by field-emission scanning electron microscopy (FE-SEM), energydispersivespectroscopy and X-ray diffraction. The stability of the coating was determined by the amount of Cu$^+$ ions released into the surrounding using AAS. The microbial adhesion on the surface of Ti, TiO$_2$-NTs and NT-CuNPcoupons were evaluated by sea water exposure studies using total viable count method and also characterized by FE-SEM for any morphological changes. The NT-CuNP coupons show a 60% reduction in microbial adhesion whencompared to control Ti coupons.

    • Author Affiliations



      1. Department of Biotechnology, School of Bioengineering, SRM University, Chennai 603 203, Tamilnadu, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.