• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Chemical synthesis; rare earth metals; co-doping; ferromagnetism.

    • Abstract


      Well-crystalline structured ZnO nanoparticles with cobalt (Co) and ytterbium (Yb) multiple ions doping were successfully synthesized by the chemical precipitation technique. The structures, optical and magnetic properties of the samples were analysed with X-ray diffraction (XRD), UV–visible spectroscopy and magnetic measurements, respectively. In the XRD pattern of the pure ZnO and Yb co-doped samples, the formation of highly crystalline phase of pure ZnO was observed even at high Yb concentration. UV–vis spectra show a strong UV absorbance for all the samples with different absorbance maxima. Magnetic characterizations have shown that the sample with 1% Yb co-doped ZnO: Co nanoparticles exhibited a clear ferromagnetic (FM) behaviour at room temperature. The X-ray photoelectron spectral peaks for Yb 4f ions reveal Yb occupation of both Yb3+ as well as Yb2+ states. Hence, it can be confirmed that a clear FM behaviour at room temperature was exhibited by an imbalanced valence state of Yb that strongly interacted with the Co2+. When compared to the Co-doped ZnO, Yb co-doped ZnO exhibits a clear ferromagnetism at room temperature with high coercivity due to the contribution of both 3d and 4f exchange interaction with the host matrix.

    • Author Affiliations


      T Thangeeswari1 2 M Priya3 J Velmurugan2 N Padmanathan4

      1. Department of Physics, Vel Tech MultiTech Engineering College, Chennai 600 062, India
      2. Department of Medical Physics, Anna University, Chennai 600 025, India
      3. Department of Physics, Saveetha Engineering College, Chennai 602 105, India
      4. Department of Physics, Anna University, Chennai 600 025, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2017-2019 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.