• Effect of Zn(NO3)2 filler on the dielectric permittivity and electrical modulus of PMMA

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      PMMA–Zn(NO3)2 composite; composite materials; dielectric permittivity; electrical modulus; sol casting.

    • Abstract


      Composite films consisting of polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) and Zn(NO3)2 were developed in the laboratory through the sol casting technique. These films were characterized using X-ray diffraction (XRD) and Fourier transform infrared (FTIR) spectroscopy. The morphological analysis was carried out by scanning electron microscopy (SEM). These analyses revealed the homogeneous and semi-crystalline behaviour of the films. The dielectric response measurement was conducted in the frequency range from 100 Hz to 5 MHz. The real and imaginary part of the dielectric permittivity decreased with the increase in frequency but increased with temperature. The electrical conductivity measurement showed a plateau-like behaviour in the low-frequency region and dispersion in the high-frequency region. The frequency-dependent electrical modulus obeyed Arrhenius law, and it showed an increase in the dipolar interaction with the temperature due to thermal activation. The activation energy of the film specimen was estimated to be about 0.448 eV. Thus the polymeric composite PMMA–Zn(NO3)2 is one of the appropriate candidate for numerous technical applications such as supercapacitors, high-speed computers and gate dielectric material for organic FETs.

    • Author Affiliations


      P Maji1 P P Pande2 R B Choudhary1

      1. Department of Applied Physics, Indian School of Mines (ISM) Dhanbad, Jharkhand 826 004, India
      2. Department of Applied Sciences, Madan Mohan Malaviya University of Technology, Gorakhpur 273 010, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2017-2019 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.