• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Plasma polymerization process; ion exchange capacity; proton conductivity; thermal stability.

    • Abstract


      This work reports the achievement of higher proton conductivity of polystyrene based proton exchange membrane synthesized in a continuous RF plasma polymerization process using two precursors, styrene (C8H8) and trifluoromethane sulfonic acid (CF3SO3H). The chemical composition of the developed membranes is investigated using Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy and energy dispersive spectroscopy. Scanning electron microscopy has been used for the study of surface morphology and thickness measurement of the membrane. The membranes deposited in the power range from 0.114 to 0.318 Wcm-2 exhibit a lot of variation in the properties like proton transport, water uptake, sulfonation rate, ion exchange capacity and thermal behaviour. The proton conductivity of the membranes is achieved up to 0.6 Scm-1, measured with the help of potentiostat/galvanostat. The thermogravimetric study of the plasma polymerized membrane shows the thermal stability up to 140 °C temperature.

    • Author Affiliations


      Bhabesh Kumar Nath1 Aziz Khan1 Joyanti Chutia1 Arup Ratan Pal1 Heremba Bailung1 Neelotpal Sen Sarma1 Devasish Chowdhury1 Nirab Chandra Adhikary1

      1. Physical Science Division, Institute of Advanced Study in Science and Technology, Paschim Boragaon, Guwahati 781 035, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.