• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Amorphous carbon nanotubes; chemical synthesis; structures; oxidation resistance properties.

    • Abstract


      Tunable amorphous carbon nanotubes (a-CNTs) were successfully synthesized using V3O7.H2O and glucose solution as the starting materials by a novel route for the first time. The as-obtained samples were separately characterized by scanning electron microscopy (SEM), transmission electron microscopy (TEM), X-ray powder diffraction (XRD), energy-dispersive spectrometer (EDS), elemental analysis (EA), Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FT–IR) and Raman spectrum. The results showed that the as-obtained a-CNTs had uniform diameters with outer diameter ranging from 140 to 250 nm and inner diameter about 28 nm on an average, and their length was up to several micrometres. No VO𝑥 residues remaining in a-CNTs showed the as-obtained a-CNTs with high purity. The as-prepared a-CNTs were a kind of hydrogenated a-CNTs containing both the 𝑠𝑝3- and 𝑠𝑝2-type carbons. Furthermore, the thermal stability of the as-obtained a-CNTs in the air atmosphere were investigated by thermo-gravimetric/differential thermal analyser (TG-DTA), revealing that the as-obtained a-CNTs had good thermal stability and oxidation resistance below 300 °C in air.

    • Author Affiliations


      Longlong Xu1 Yifu Zhang1 2 Xiongzhi Zhang1 Yu Huang3 Xiaoyu Tan2 Chi Huang1 Xiao Mei4 Fei Niu1 Changgong Meng2 Gongzhen Cheng1

      1. College of Chemistry and Molecular Sciences, Wuhan University, Wuhan 430072, China
      2. School of Chemistry, Dalian University of Technology, Dalian 116024, China
      3. School of Printing and Packaging, Wuhan University, Wuhan 430079, China
      4. School of Resources and Environmental Science, Wuhan University, Wuhan 430079, China
    • Dates

    • Supplementary Material

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.