• Nanoporous Ag template from partially sintered Ag–Zn compact by dezincification

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Sintering; chrono-amperometry; porosity; dezincification; SEM; EDAX.

    • Abstract


      A novel approach is followed to successfully fabricate nanoporous thin Ag template using partial sintering of elemental Ag and Zn (both have 99.9% purity) and subsequent dezincification. The starting materials for dezincification are partially sintered Ag–Zn aggregates (2.5, 5 and 10 wt% Zn). Partial sintering is done in order to achieve only interfacial bonding with the aim to maintain maximum potential difference between Ag and Zn particles during dezincification process in 1 N HCl and 3.5 wt% NaCl solutions. Two different dissolution methods, namely, simple immersion for 45 days and electrochemical way (holding the sample at critical potential), are employed. Electrochemical polarization tests are carried out to determine the critical potential for subsequent chrono-amperometry. X-ray diffraction, optical microscopy, scanning electron microscopy and energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy are carried out to examine microstructural evolution, size, distribution and nature of pores in sintered aggregate as well as in template.

    • Author Affiliations


      M Mandal1 A P Moon1 S Sangal1 K Mondal1

      1. Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Kanpur 208 016, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2017-2019 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.