• Synthesis, characterization, photocatalytic and reusability studies of capped ZnS nanoparticles

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      ZnS nanoparticles; capping; dye degradation; reusability.

    • Abstract


      This paper presents results of a study on the structural and morphological properties of 2-mercaptoethanol (2-ME) capped ZnS nanoparticles (NPs). The photocatalytic and reusability study of the synthesized NPs to degrade dyes was also done. ZnS semiconductor NPs were synthesized via chemical precipitation route using 2-ME as a stabilizing agent. The as-prepared NPs were characterized by X-ray diffraction (XRD) technique to confirm the nanometer sized particle formation. Morphological features of capped ZnS NPs were determined by transmission electron microscopy (TEM). Dynamic light scattering (DLS) technique was used to determine the hydrodynamic size of capped ZnS NPs. UV–Vis studies were done to determine the absorption edge and bandgap of the capped ZnS NPs. Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FT–IR) studies were done to confirm the presence of 2-ME on the surface of NPs. Photocatalytic studies of the as-prepared ZnS NPs were done by taking Ponceau S and crystal violet dyes as model pollutants. Their comparative degradation behaviour has been discussed. Reusability study of ZnS NPs was done to ensure its applicability as recycled catalyst in photocatalysis. The result showed photocatalytic enhancement of reused catalyst. Possible reason has been discussed in this work.

    • Author Affiliations


      Jagdeep Kaur1 Manoj Sharma2 O P Pandey1

      1. School of Physics and Materials Science, Thapar University, Patiala 147 004, India
      2. Department of Nanotechnology, Sri Guru Granth Sahib World University, Fatehgarh Sahib 140 406, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2017-2019 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.