• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Intermetallics; crystal structure; magnetic properties; electric properties; electronic structure calculations.

    • Abstract


      RAgSn2 compounds, where R = Y, Tb, Dy, Ho and Er, were synthesized by arc-melting and subsequent annealing at 870 K. The formation of cubic phases with Cu3Au-type structure (space group 𝑃𝑚$\bar{3}$𝑚) was studied. Magnetic property measurements showed that in paramagnetic state, the compounds with magnetic rareearth atoms are Curie–Weiss paramagnets and order antiferromagnetically at low temperatures. YAgSn2 is a Pauli paramagnet in 100–300 K temperature range. The electrical properties of RAgSn2 compounds were investigated by means of electrical resistivity and Seebeck coefficient measurements in 4.2–300 K temperature range. All investigated compounds exhibit metallic type of conductivity. Electronic structure calculations based on full potential linearized augmented plane wave (FLAPW)method is also carried out to probe themagnetic and electronic structures of RAgSn2 compounds. Comparisons between experimental data and calculations are discussed.

    • Author Affiliations


      L Romaka1 V V Romaka2 I Lototska1 A Szytula3 B Kuzhel1 A Zarzycki3 E K Hlil4 D Fruchart4

      1. Department of Inorganic Chemistry, Ivan Franko Lviv National University, Kyryl and Mephodiy Street 6, 79005, Lviv, Ukraine
      2. Department of Materials Engineering and Applied Physics, Lviv Polytechnic National University, Ustyyanovycha Street 5, 79013, Lviv, Ukraine
      3. Institute of Physics, Jagiellonian University, Reymonta 4, 30059 Krakow, Poland
      4. Institut Néel, CNRS et Université Joseph Fourier, BP 166, F-38042 Grenoble cedex 9, France
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.