• Fabrication of polystyrene/agave particle biocomposites using compression molding technique: evaluation of flammability, biodegradability, mechanical and thermal behaviour

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Particle; composites; thermal properties; fracture; adhesion.

    • Abstract


      Polystyrene (PS) composites reinforced with ungrafted and acrylonitrile (AN) grafted agave particles (AgP) have been prepared with 10–30% particle content by weight using compression molding technique. The composite specimens thus prepared were subjected to the evaluation of mechanical, chemical, flammability and biodegradability properties. PS composites with 20% particle loading exhibited optimum mechanical properties. AN grafted AgP/PS composites exhibited higher mechanical strength as compared to ungrafted AgP/PS composites. Further AN grafted AgP/PS composites exhibited better thermal properties and biodegradability as compared to PS matrix. Addition of fire retardant fillers such as magnesium hydroxide Mg(OH)2 and zinc borate lowered burning rate of PS composites considerably. Scanning electron microscopy (SEM) of tensile fracture surfaces of AN grafted AgP/PS composites showed better particle/matrix adhesion.

    • Author Affiliations


      A S Singha1 Raj K Rana2

      1. Department of Chemistry, National Institute of Technology, Hamirpur 177 005, India
      2. Department of Chemistry, Chandigarh University, Gharuan, Mohali, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2022-2023 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.