• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Magneto dielectric effect; nanocomposites; Pb(Zr0.52Ti0.48)O3; Ni0.5Zn0.5Fe2O4.

    • Abstract


      Nanoporous Ni0.5Zn0.5Fe2O4 particles of diameter, ∼ 9.5 nm, were synthesized by citric acid assisted thermal decomposition in an autoclave. The BET surface area measured was 80 m2 g-1 and the average pore diameter was 2.5 nm. By soaking the particles in a suitable precursor solution and then subjecting them to a heat treatment at 923 K for 3 h, Pb(Zr0.52Ti0.48)O3 was grown within the nanopores. X-ray and electron diffraction studies confirmed the presence of both these phases. The nanocomposites showed ferromagnetic behaviour over the temperature range 2–300 K. No ferroelectric hysteresis loop could be found which was consistent with the earlier theoretical prediction of loss of ferroelectricity below a critical thickness of 2.4 nm. Good magneto-dielectric response of the order of 7% at a magnetic field of 9 kOe was recorded for the present system. This is believed to arise due to a negative magnetostriction coefficient of Ni0.5Zn0.5Fe2O4 which exerted a compressive strain on Pb(Zr0.52Ti0.48)O3 thereby lowering the tetragonality in its crystal structure.

    • Author Affiliations


      Shilpi Banerjee1 2 Anindya Datta3 Asim Bhaumik2 Dipankar Chakravorty4

      1. MLS Professor’s Unit, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata 700 032, India
      2. Department of Materials Science, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata 700 032, India
      3. University School of Basic and Applied Science (USBAS), Guru Govind Singh Indraprastha University, New Delhi 110 078, India
      4. MLS Professor’s Unit, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science,Kolkata 700 032, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.