• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      𝑝-Phenylenediamine; multi-walled carbon nanotube; nanocomposite; oxidative polymerization.

    • Abstract


      Poly(𝑝-phenylenediamine) (P𝑝PD)/carboxylic acid-functionalized multiwalled carbon nanotubes (𝑐-MWCNTs) nanocomposites were prepared by chemical oxidative polymerization using potassium persulfate (K2S2O8) as an oxidant. Field-emission scanning electron microscopy (FE–SEM) and field-emission transmission electron microscopy (FE–TEM) showed that a tubular layer of P𝑝PD was coated on the surface of carbon nanotubes with a thickness of 10–20 nm. FT–IR analysis provided an evidence for the formation of nanocomposites. The thermal stability of nanocomposites was improved by addition of 𝑐-MWCNTs as confirmed by thermogravimetric analysis (TGA). XRD spectra showed that the crystalline nature of P𝑝PD was not affected much by the addition of 𝑐-MWCNTs. As the content of 𝑐-MWCNTs was increased, the electrical conductivity of the nanocomposites increased due to the interaction between polymer and nanotubes that enhances electron delocalization.

    • Author Affiliations


      Quang Long Pham1 Yuvaraj Haldorai1 Van Hoa Nguyen1 Dirk Tuma2 Jae-Jin Shim1

      1. School of Display and Chemical Engineering, Yeungnam University, Gyeongsan, Gyeongbuk 712-749, Republic of Korea
      2. BAM Federal Institute of Materials Research and Testing, Richard-Willstätter-Str.11, D-12489 Berlin, Germany
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.