• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      CdTe; CTAB; electrospinning; nanofibre; nanoparticle; photoluminescence intensity.

    • Abstract


      The major objective of this work was to detect the change of photoluminescence (PL) intensity of CdTe nanoparticles (NPs) before and after transfer from liquid phase to polystyrene (PS) matrix by electrospinning technique. Thio-stabilized CdTe NPs were first synthesized in aqueous, then enwrapped by cetyltrimethylammonium bromide (CTAB), and finally, transferred into PS matrix to form CdTe/PS nanofibres by electrospinning. Then, CdTe/PS nanofibres were characterized by scanning electron microscope (SEM) and transmission electron microscope (TEM) to observe their morphology and distribution, respectively. The selective area electronic diffraction (SAED) pattern proved that the CdTe NPs were cubic lattice. The PL spectrum indicated that CdTe NPs have been transferred into PS nanofibres, and the PL intensity of CdTe NPs in the nanofibres was even higher than that before CdTe NPs were introduced into PS nanofibres. Moreover, X-ray photoelectron spectra (XPS) revealed that thiol-stabilized CdTe NPs were enwrapped by CTAB, and PS acted as a dispersant in the process of electrospinning.

    • Author Affiliations


      Shugang Wang1 Yaoxian Li1 Jie Bai1 Qingbiao Yang1 Yan Song1 Chaoqun Zhang1

      1. Department of Organic Chemistry, College of Chemistry, Jilin University, Changchun 130021, P.R. China
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2017-2019 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.