• Structural and optical properties of chemically deposited Cd(S–Se) : CdCl2, Sm films

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Photoconduction; chemical bath deposition; photoluminescence; energy bandgap.

    • Abstract


      Results of SEM and XRD studies, optical absorption and photoluminescence (PL) emission spectra and photoconductivity (PC), rise and decay studies are reported for Cd(S–Se) : CdCl2, Sm films prepared by chemical deposition method on glass substrates at 60°C in a water bath. SEM studies show ball-type structures along with voids which are related to layered growth. XRD studies show prominent diffraction lines of CdS and CdSe along with some peaks of CdCl2 and impurity Sm. The values of strain (𝜀), grain size (𝐷) and dislocation density (𝛿) are evaluated from XRD studies and the nature of crystallinity of the films are discussed. Optical absorption spectra also show the presence of Sm in the lattice. From the results of optical absorption spectra, the band gaps are determined. PL emission spectra of Cd(S–Se) consist of two peaks which are related to the edge emission of CdS and CdSe involving excitons. In Sm-doped emissions corresponding to transitions ${}^{4}G_{5/2}$ to ${}^{6}H_{5/2}$, ${}^{6}H_{7/2}$ and ${}^{6}H_{9/2}$ are observed. Sufficiently high photo current (𝐼pc) to dark current (𝐼dc) ratios with a maximum value of the order of 106 are also obtained in some special cases. This high photosensitization is related to increase in mobility and life time of carriers due to photo excitation.

    • Author Affiliations


      R S Singh1 S Bhushan1 2

      1. Department of Physics, Pt. Ravishankar Shukla University, Raipur 492 010, India
      2. Shri Shankaracharya College of Engineering & Technology, Junwani, Bhilai, Durg 490 006, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2017-2019 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.