• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      X-ray diffraction; metals and alloys; microstructure; Warren–Averbach method; double-Voigt method; Rietveld method.

    • Abstract


      Present study considers microstructural characterization of vanadium-based palladium (V–Pd) alloys, which are widely used in marine environment due to their high corrosion resistance. The X-ray diffraction line profile analysis (XRDLPA) have been used to assess the microstructure in body centred cubic (bcc) V–Pd alloys having four different nominal compositions in wt.%. X-ray diffraction line broadening analysis on V–Pd alloys has been performed by using different methods like the Warren–Averbach, double-Voigt and Rietveld methods. Finally microstructural defect parameters such as domain size (𝐷), r.m.s. microstrain 〈 𝜀21/2, twin fault (𝛽'), spacing fault (𝛼𝜀) and deformation stacking fault (𝛼) were evaluated in these alloys by Fourier line shape analysis using Rietveld method in which the X-ray diffraction profiles of these alloys were described by the pseudo-Voigt function to fit the experimental data. From analysis it has been observed that twin fault, 𝛽', and the spacing fault, 𝛼𝜀, are totally absent in these bcc alloy systems because the twin fault, 𝛽', has been observed to be either negative or very small (within experimental error limit) for these alloy systems and the spacing fault, 𝛼𝜀, appears to be negative. This analysis also revealed that the deformation stacking fault, 𝛼, is significantly present in this alloy system and increases with Pd content.

    • Author Affiliations


      J Ghosh1 2 S K Chattopadhyay1 A K Meikap1 S K Chatterjee1 P Chatterjee3

      1. Department of Physics, National Institute of Technology, Durgapur 713 209, India
      2. XRD Section, Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute, Kolkata 700 032, India
      3. Department of Physics, Vivekananda Mahavidyalaya, Haripal, Hoogly 712 405, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.