• Synthesis and characterization of porous polyurethaneurea membranes for pervaporative separation of 4-nitrophenol from aqueous solution

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Pervaporation; polyurethaneurea; nitrophenol; porous membrane.

    • Abstract


      Hydroxyterminated polybutadiene (HTPB) based porous polyurethaneurea (PUU) membranes were prepared. The porosity was developed by incorporation of lithium chloride into polymer matrix with subsequent leaching of the same in hot water. Scanning electron microscopic analysis of the prepared membrane surfaces was performed. The pervaporation performance of the synthesized membrane was studied with aqueous 4-nitrophenol solution as feed. The effects of various parameters on 4-nitrophenol separation factor and total as well as 4-nitrophenol flux were studied. Polyurethaneurea membrane was found to permeate 4-nitrophenol selectively with high separation factors for the organic component. Pore size and number of pores on the surface of the membrane were calculated from SEM image of the membranes. Effects of pore size and porosity on pervaporation flux were also investigated.

    • Author Affiliations


      Ujjal K Ghosh1 Narayan C Pradhan1 Basudam Adhikari2

      1. Department of Chemical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur 721 302, India
      2. Materials Science Centre, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur 721 302, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.