• Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Crystal growth; Bridgman method; acousto-optic crystal; lead molybdate.

    • Abstract


      The growth of PbMoO4 crystals by the modified Bridgman method has been reported in this paper. The feed material with strict stoichiometric composition is desirable for the Bridgman growth of the crystals. The continuous composition change of the melts during growth can be avoided because the volatilization of melts is limited by sealed platinum crucibles. By means of the optimum growth parameters such as the growth rate of < 1.2 mm/h and the temperature gradient of 20 ∼ 40°C/cm across the solid–liquid interface under the furnace temperature of 1140 ∼ 1200°C, large size crystals with high optical uniformity were grown successfully. The distribution of Pb and Mo concentration along the growth axis was measured by X-ray fluorescence analysis. The single crystallinity of the grown sample was evaluated by the double-crystal X-ray rocking curve. The transmission spectra were measured in the range of 300–800 nm at room temperature.

    • Author Affiliations


      Hongbing Chen1 Congxin Ge1 Rongsheng Li1 Jinhao Wang1 Changgen Wu2 Xianling Zeng2

      1. Municipal Key Laboratory of Inorganic Materials, Institute of Solid State Chemistry, Ningbo University, Ningbo 315211, P.R. China
      2. Department of Materials Science, University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei 230026, P.R. China
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.