• Formation and characterization of Y:247 film through spray pyrolysis technique

    • Fulltext


        Click here to view fulltext PDF

      Permanent link:

    • Keywords


      Thin film; quenching; superconducting.

    • Abstract


      The synthesis of high temperature superconducting films of Y:247 (𝑇c ∼ K) have been successfully achieved. The difficulty in synthesis owing to narrow range of stability of Y:247 has been taken care of through several quenching modes, e.g. quenching of the films synthesized at ∼ 850°C, in air or in liquid nitrogen. The energy dispersive analysis of X-rays (EDAX) and transmission electron microscopy (TEM) studies of the as processed film, Y2Ba4Cu7O14+𝑥, exhibit nearly correct cationic stoichiometry of 2 : 4 : 7; also narrow regions (< 50 Å) of minority Y:124 phase and stacking faults capable of working as flux pinning sites have been invariably found to be present. In addition to Y:247, Ag admixed films have also been investigated. The 𝑇c here is ∼ 70–75 K which is similar to that of the film without silver. Representative estimates of transport critical current density (𝐽c) for Y:247 films is ∼ 103 A/cm2, and with silver corresponding to Y2Ba4Cu7O14+𝑥 (Ag0.1) is found to be ∼ 104 A/cm2.

    • Author Affiliations


      Suman Anand1 2 O N Srivastava1

      1. Department of Physics, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi 221 005, India
      2. Optical Radiation Standards, National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi 110 012, India
    • Dates

  • Bulletin of Materials Science | News

    • Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar for Science and Technology

      Posted on October 12, 2020

      Prof. Subi Jacob George — Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bengaluru
      Chemical Sciences 2020

      Prof. Surajit Dhara — School of Physics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
      Physical Sciences 2020

    • Editorial Note on Continuous Article Publication

      Posted on July 25, 2019

      Click here for Editorial Note on CAP Mode

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.