Women Fellows of TWAS


  • Anand Ashima

    04-Medical and Health Sciences incl. Neurosciences.
  • Buti Bimla

  • Kanchan Chopra
    PhD, President, Indian Society of Ecological Economics, and former Director, Institute of Economic Growth, New Delhi, India.

    Born: 14 May 1944
    She is unarguably the most significant India-based economist in the past 30 years. She has created an empirical and sensitive literature on human-nature interactions in rural India, focusing on local institutions and the place of common property resources (water, forests) in rural life and the distress migration caused by their degradation. Fellow of the Beijer Institute of Ecological Economics and Member, Expert Committee on Climate Change, India, she is an editorial advisor to the new journal Environment and Development Economics. Elected as Fellow.
  • Veena Das

  • Kasturi Datta

    02-Structural, Cell and Molecular Biology
  • Rohini M. Godbole
    PhD, Professor, Centre for Theoretical Studies (Centre for High Energy Physics), Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India.

    Born: 12 November 1952
    India. She has made pioneering suggestions to 'directly' study 'gluon' context and the structure of the photon at (e+ e-) and (ep) colliders via ‘resolved photon processes’ for real and virtual photons; invention of the cleanest signature for the then unseen last constituent of fermionic matter, the top quark; and strategies for studying the Higgs boson. Fellow of all science academies of India, she has won India’s JC Bose Fellowship, Meghnad Saha Medal and the JL Nehru Centenary Visiting Professorship of INSA. Elected as Fellow.
  • Rajinder Jeet Hans-Gill

    08-Mathematical Sciences
  • Kamala Krishnaswamy

  • Chitra Mandal
    PhD., Head, Cancer and Cell Biology, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata, India.

    Born: 15 September 1951
    Mandal's discovery in understanding the mystery of glycosylation of biomolecules has provided elucidations to the encounter between the newly-induced sugar molecules and diseased status. Her glyco-immunological work has established O-acetylated sialioglycoproteins as novel decisive biomarkers in leukaemia. Her earlier work on visceral leishmaniasis has provided scope for advanced diagnostic, therapeutic and clinical status monitoring and led to three transfers of technology. Fellow of all science academies of India, and a JC Bose Fellow, she delivered the Yellapragada Subba Rao Lecture of INSA in 2011. Elected as Fellow.
  • Asha Mathur

    04-Medical and Health Sciences incl. Neurosciences
  • Indira Nath

    04-Medical and Health Sciences incl. Neurosciences
  • Vijayalakshmi Ravindranath

    04-Medical and Health Sciences incl. Neurosciences
  • Manju Sharma

    03-Biological Systems and Organisms
  • Women in Science | News

    • Women in Science Panel, Indian Academy of Sciences

      Please click here to see the details

    • Vera Rubin, astronomer who proved existence of dark matter, dies at 88

      Please click here to see the details

    • An article published in "The Guardian" on 10 best unsung female scientists

      Please click here to see the details

    • Do You Know the Botanist Janaki Ammal, She of the Magnolia Kobus Fame?

      Please click here to see the details

    • Perimeter Institute’s Emmy Noether Visiting Fellowship

      Please click here to see the details

    • Obituary


      We are very sorry to announce the untimely demise of Prof. Charusita Chakravarty, one of the stars of our community of women scientists, at a young age of 52, after a valiant battle with cancer, today on 29th March 2016 in Delhi. May her memory inspire many a young women in the coming years!

    • Women’s Science Congress seeks raison d’etre

      By: Mihika Basu
    • Science of Sexism?

      Posted on June 20, 2015

      Nobel Laureate Sir Tim Hunt's joke about having women in the lab has raised the 'sexism in science' debate again! An article published in 'Mumbai Age'. MORE

    • Women Scientists: Reflections, Challenges, and Breaking Boundaries

      Posted on April 16, 2015

      Contains portraits of sixty notable female scientists, including eight of the sixteen women Nobel prize winners. MORE

    • Country report of India of the AASSA meeting

      Rohini M. Godbole and Ramakrishna Ramaswamy

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.