Stree Shakti Science Samman Awardees


Following is the list of women awardees:

  • Year: 2012

    Dr. Jaya S. Tyagi
    Specialization: Molecular Biology, Mycobacteriology and Gene Regulation

  • Year: 2012

    Telma B. K.
    Specialization: Cytogenetics and Human Genetics

  • Year: 2010

    Prof. Shobhana Narasimhan
    Specialization: Computational Nanoscience

  • Year: 2010

    Prof. Usha Bhosle
    Specialization: Algebraic Geometry

  • Year: 2009

    Dr. Charusita Chakravarty
    Specialization: Chemical Physics, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry

  • Year: 2008

    Prof. Rupamanjari Ghosh
    Specialization: Experimental and Theoretical Quantum Optics, Laser Physics and Nonlinear Optics.

  • Year: 2007

    Manikuntala Kundu
    Specialization: Biochemistry

  • Year: 2006

    Chitra Dutta (Joint Recipient)
    Specialization: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

  • Year: 2006

    Neelima Gupte (Joint Recipient)
    Specialization: Physics

  • Year: 2005

    Aruna Dhathathreyan (Joint Recipient)
    Specialization: Physical Chemistry

  • Year: 2005

    Anuradha Lohia (Joint Recipient)
    Specialization: Biochemistry

  • Year: 2004

    Anita Mehta (Joint Recipient)
    Specialization: Theoretical Physics

  • Year: 2004

    Soniya Nityanand (Joint Recipient)
    Specialization: Hematology, Medical Sciences

  • Year: 2003

    Shobhona Sharma
    Specialization: Molecular Parasitology

  • Year: 2002

    Vijayalakshmi Ravindranath
    Specialization: Neuroscience

  • Year: 2001

    Pratima Sinha
    Specialization: Molecular Biology and Biochemistry

  • Year: 2000

    Indrani Bose
    Specialization: Condensed Matter Physics

  • Women in Science | News

    • Women in Science Panel, Indian Academy of Sciences

      Please click here to see the details

    • Vera Rubin, astronomer who proved existence of dark matter, dies at 88

      Please click here to see the details

    • An article published in "The Guardian" on 10 best unsung female scientists

      Please click here to see the details

    • Do You Know the Botanist Janaki Ammal, She of the Magnolia Kobus Fame?

      Please click here to see the details

    • Perimeter Institute’s Emmy Noether Visiting Fellowship

      Please click here to see the details

    • Obituary


      We are very sorry to announce the untimely demise of Prof. Charusita Chakravarty, one of the stars of our community of women scientists, at a young age of 52, after a valiant battle with cancer, today on 29th March 2016 in Delhi. May her memory inspire many a young women in the coming years!

    • Women’s Science Congress seeks raison d’etre

      By: Mihika Basu
    • Science of Sexism?

      Posted on June 20, 2015

      Nobel Laureate Sir Tim Hunt's joke about having women in the lab has raised the 'sexism in science' debate again! An article published in 'Mumbai Age'. MORE

    • Women Scientists: Reflections, Challenges, and Breaking Boundaries

      Posted on April 16, 2015

      Contains portraits of sixty notable female scientists, including eight of the sixteen women Nobel prize winners. MORE

    • Country report of India of the AASSA meeting

      Rohini M. Godbole and Ramakrishna Ramaswamy

© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.