Panel Members


Members of the Panel as constituted by the Academy

Chair person

Prof. Sandhya S. Visweswariah is a JC Bose National Fellow, Department of Molecular Reproduction & Developmental, Genetics, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru. Her areas of specialization are Biochemistry, Protein Structure & Function and Signal Transduction (Email:

Panel members

  1. Dr Nahid Ali is a Chief Scientist, IDI Division, Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata. Her areas of specialization are Immunology and Parasitology (Email:,
  2. Dr A. K. Bachhawat is a Professor (Biology) & Dean (Research and Development), Indian Institute of Science Education & Research, Mohali. His areas of specialization are Microbial Genetics, Molecular Genetics and Microbial Biochemistry (Email:
  3. Dr Madhu Dixit is a Chief Scientist, Pharmacology Division, Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow. Her areas of specialization are Redox Biology, Cardiovascular Pharmacology, Molecular Pharmacology, Neutrophiles and Nitric Oxide Synthase (Email:,
  4. Prof. Jaya N. Iyer is Professor G, Mathematics Group, The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai. She specializes in Algebraic Geometry. (Email:,
  5. Prof. Madan Rao is a Professor at Theoretical Physics Group, Raman Research Institute, Bengaluru. His areas of specialization are Nonequilibrium Statistical Mechanics, Soft Condensed Matter Physics and Biological Physics (Email:
  6. Prof. Vidita A. Vaidya is a professor at Department of Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai. She specializes in Neurobiology of emotion (Email:
  • Women in Science | News

    • Vera Rubin, astronomer who proved existence of dark matter, dies at 88

      Please click here to see the details

    • An article published in "The Guardian" on 10 best unsung female scientists

      Please click here to see the details

    • Do You Know the Botanist Janaki Ammal, She of the Magnolia Kobus Fame?

      Please click here to see the details

    • Perimeter Institute’s Emmy Noether Visiting Fellowship

      Please click here to see the details

    • Obituary


      We are very sorry to announce the untimely demise of Prof. Charusita Chakravarty, one of the stars of our community of women scientists, at a young age of 52, after a valiant battle with cancer, today on 29th March 2016 in Delhi. May her memory inspire many a young women in the coming years!

    • Women’s Science Congress seeks raison d’etre

      By: Mihika Basu
    • Science of Sexism?

      Posted on June 20, 2015

      Nobel Laureate Sir Tim Hunt's joke about having women in the lab has raised the 'sexism in science' debate again! An article published in 'Mumbai Age'. MORE

    • Women Scientists: Reflections, Challenges, and Breaking Boundaries

      Posted on April 16, 2015

      Contains portraits of sixty notable female scientists, including eight of the sixteen women Nobel prize winners. MORE

    • Country report of India of the AASSA meeting

      Rohini M. Godbole and Ramakrishna Ramaswamy

© 2017-2019 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.