SECTIONAL COMMITTEES

 

Sectional Committees are appointed by the Council. Their responsibilities include:-

  1. screening of the list of candidates for election to the Fellowship and reporting thereon to the Council;
  2. organising lectures and discussion meetings;
  3. preparation of articles and position papers for publication, and
  4. generally carrying out the programme of the Academy in their areas of specialization.

Members of the Sectional Committees have the responsibility of consulting other Fellows in carrying out their work.

Sectional Committees - 2022

Mathematical Sciences

Tirthankar Bhattacharyya (Convener)
IISc, Bangalore
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2710
Email: tirtha@iisc.ac.in
Probal Chaudhuri
ISI, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2575 3414, (033) 2575 3400
Email: probal@isical.ac.in
Eknath Ghate
TIFR, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2278 2663
Email: eghate@math.tifr.res.in
Sanoli Gun
IMSc, Chennai
Off. Tel.: (044) 2254 3202
Email: sanoli@imsc.res.in
Amit Kumar
IIT, New Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2659 1286
Email: amitk@cse.iitd.ac.in
Neela Nataraj
IIT, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2576 7468
Email: neela@math.iitb.ac.in
Rahul Roy
ISI, New Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 4149 3905
Email: rahul@isid.ac.in
P Sankaran
CMI, Chennai
Off. Tel.: (044) 7196 1022
Email: sankaran@cmi.ac.in

Physics

Amol Dighe (Convener)
TIFR, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2278 2423
Email: amol@theory.tifr.res.in
Dipankar Banerjee
ARIES, Nainital
Off. Tel.: (05942) 23 5136
Email: dipu@aries.res.in
Anjan Barman
SNB-NCBS, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2335 5706-8
Email: abarman@bose.res.in
Debajyoti Choudhury
Delhi University, Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2766 7061
Email: debajyoti.choudhury@gmail.com
Amita Das
IIT, New Delhi
MOB.: 98795 65174
Email: amita@iitd.ac.in
Bedangadas Mohanty
NISER, Bhubaneswar
Off. Tel.: (0674) 249 4266
Email: bedanga@niser.ac.in
Krishnendu Sengupta
IACS, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2473 4971/2192
Email: tpks@iacs.res.in
Sudeshna Sinha
IISER, Mohali
MOB.: 99156 62755
Email: sudeshna@iisermohali.ac.in
P B Sunil Kumar
IIT, Palakkad
Off. Tel.: (04923) 22 6501
Email: sunil@iitpkd.ac.in; sunil@iitm.ac.in

Chemistry

A K Ganguli (Convener)
IIT, New Delhi
RES. Tel.: (011) 2659 1654
Email: ashok@chemistry.iitd.ac.in
A Ajayaghosh
NIIST, Thiruvananthapuram
Off. Tel.: (0471) 249 3599, 249 0324 Email: ajayaghosh@niist.res.in

Rahul Banerjee
IISER, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 6136 0000/1327
Email: r.banerjee@iiserkol.ac.in
J K Bera
IIT, Kanpur
Off. Tel.: (0512) 679 7336
Email: jbera@iitk.ac.in

Jyotirmayee Dash
IACS, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2473 4971/1405
Email: ocjd@iacs.res.in
T Punniyamurthy
IIT, Guwahati
Off. Tel.: (0361) 258 2309
Email: tpunni@iitg.ac.in

Subramaniam Ramakrishnan
IISc, Bangalore
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2744
Email: raman@iisc.ac.in
S Sampath
IISc, Bangalore
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 3315
Email: sampath@iisc.ac.in
Raghavan B Sunoj
IIT, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2576 7173
Email: sunoj@chem.iitb.ac.in

Engineering & Technology

A B Pandit (Convener)
ICT, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 3361 1111-2
Email: dr.pandit@gmail.com; pandit@ictmumbai.edu.in
Debatosh Guha
Calcutta Univesity, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (03) 2350 9115-16, 2350 9413/54
Email: dguha@ieee.org
Ramesh Hariharan
Strand Life Sciences, Bangalore
Off. Tel.: (080) 4078 7263
Email: ramesh@strandls.com
Santosh Kapuria
IIT, New Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2659 1218
Email: kapuria@am.iitd.ac.in
Indranil Manna
BIT, Ranchi
Off. Tel.: (0651) 227 5402
Email: imanna@metal.iitkgp.ac.in, im_kgp@yahoo.co.in
Sanjay Mittal
IIT, Kanpur
Off. Tel.: (0512) 679 7906
Email: smittal@iitk.ac.in
Sunita Sarawagi
IIT, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2576 7904
Email: sunita@iitb.ac.in
Bhim Singh
IIT, New Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2659 1045
Email: bsingh@ee.iitd.ac.in; bhimsinghr@gmail.com

Medicine

Anurag Agrawal(Convener)
IGIB, Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2766 7298, 2766 7578
Email: a.agrawal@igib.res.in; director@igib.res.in
Amita Aggarwal
SGPGI, Lucknow
Off. Tel.: (0522) 249 4284
Email: aa.amita@gmail.com
Anirban Basu
NBRC, Manesar
Off. Tel.: (0124) 284 5225
Email: anirban.nbrc@gmail.com
Madhu Dikshit
CDRI, Lucknow
MOB.: 94151 11766
Email: drmadhudikshit@gmail.com
Vikram Mathews
CMC, Vellore
Off. Tel.: (0416) 228 2891
Email: vikram@cmcvellore.ac.in; vmathews6698@gmail.com
Mitali Mukerji
IIT, Jodhpur
MOB.: 98112 88052
Email: mitali@iitj.ac.in
Nageswara Rao G
LVPEI, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 3061 2609
Email: gnrao@lvpei.org
Ravi V
NIMHANS, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2699 5126
Email: virusravi@gmail.com

Earth & Planetary Sciences

Rajeevan M (Convener)
MoES, New Delhi
MOB.: 85059 02700
Email: rajeevan61@yahoo.co.in; madhavanrajeevan@gmail.com
Gufran-Ullah Beig
IITM, Pune
Off. Tel.: (020) 2590 4261 Email: beig@tropmet.res.in
Anil Bhardwaj
PRL, Ahmedabad
Off. Tel.: (079) 2631 4855, 2631 4854
Email: abardwaj@prl.res.in; bhardwaj_spl@yahoo.com
Archana Bhattacharyya
Navi Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2772 2014 Email: archana.bhattacharyya@gmail.com

Vineet K Gahalaut
NGRI, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2701 2517
Email: vkgahalaut@yahoo.com
M Jayananda
Univ. of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2313 5309 Email: mjayan.geol@gmail.com

P P Mujumdar
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2323
Email: pradeep@civil.iisc.ernet.in
Kalachand Sain
WIHG, Dehradun
Off. Tel.: (0135) 252 5101 Email: director@wihg.res.in, kalachandsain7@gmail.com
Chandra Venkataraman
IIT, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2576 7224 Email: chandra@iitb.ac.in; cv140401@gmail.com

Animal/Plant Sciences

Anil K Tripathi (Convener)
BHU, Varanasi
Off. Tel.: (0542) 236 9670
Email: tripathianil@rediffmail.com; directoris@bhu.ac.in
Maitrayee DasGupta
Calcutta Univ., Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2461 4714
Email: maitrayee_d@hotmail.com

Utpal Nath
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2414, 2293 3606
Email: utpalnath@iisc.ac.in
Appa Rao Podile
Univ. of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2313 4503
Email: podilerao@gmail.com
Ramesh V Sonti
IISER, Tirupati
Off. Tel.: (0877) 250 0431
Email: sonti@iisertirupati.ac.in; rameshvsonti@gmail.com
Somdatta Sinha (Convener)
IISER, Mohali
MOB.: 89687 44849
Email: somdattasinha@gmail.com

Jayasri Das Sarma
IISER, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 6136 0000/1202
Email: dassarmaj@iiserkol.ac.in
Maneesha S Inamdar
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2818
Email: inamdar@jncasr.ac.in
N G Prasad
IISER, Mohali
Off. Tel.: (0172) 224 0266
Email: prasad@iisermohali.ac.in
Qudsia Tahseen
AMU, Aligarh
Off. Tel.: (0571) 270 0921-23/3440
Email: qtahseen@gmail.com

General Biology

Hemalatha Balaram (Convener)
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2812
Email: hb@jncasr.ac.in
Sumantra Chattarji
NCBS, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2366 6525
Email: shona@ncbs.res.in
Samit Chattopadhyay
BITS, Goa
Off. Tel.: (0832) 258 0856
Email: samitc@goa.bits-pilani.ac.in, samitchatterji@yahoo.com
B Gopal
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 3219
Email: bgopal@iisc.ac.in
Rupinder Kaur
CDFD, Hydearbad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2721 6137
Email: rkaur@cdfd.org.in
Roop Mallik
IIT, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2576 7769, 2576 4789
Email: rmallik@iitb.ac.in
Apurva Sarin
INSTEM, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 6194 8200
Email: sarina@instem.res.in
D Siddavattam
Univ. of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2313 5478
Email: sdsl@uohyd.ernet.in, siddavattam@gmail.com

SUB-COMMITTEE

Raman Chair And Janaki Ammal Chair

Umesh V Waghmare (Chairperson)
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2842
Email: waghmare@jncasr.ac.in
D Balasubramanian
LVPEI, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2354 3652, (040) 6810 2501
Email: dbala@lvpei.org
Dipankar Chatterji
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2360 0137, (080) 2293 2836
Email: dipankar@iisc.ac.in
Partha P Majumder
NIBMG,Kalyani
OFF. TEL.: (033) 2589 2150-51
Email: ppm1@nibmg.ac.in
V Ramgopal Rao
IIT, New Delhi
OFF. TEL.: (011) 2659 1701, (011) 2658 2020
Email: rrao@iitd.ac.in
T V Ramakrishnan
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2581
Email: tvrama2002@yahoo.co.in, tvrama@physics.iisc.ernet.in
Mythily Ramaswamy
ICTS, Bengaluru
RES. Tel.: (080) 2334 1138
Email: mythily54@gmail.com
R Ramaswamy
IIT, New Delhi
Tel. Res.: (011) 2659 7969
Email: ramaswamy@chemistry.iitd.ac.in, r.ramaswamy@gmail.com
C N R Rao
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2365 3075, (080) 2208 2761
Email: cnrrao@jncasr.ac.in
A K Sood
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2360 2238, (080) 2293 2964
Email: asood@iisc.ac.in, asood1951@gmail.com

Jubilee Chair Sub-committee

V A Raghunathan
RRI, Bengaluru (Chairperson)
Off. Tel.: 94808 36154
Email: varaghu@rri.res.in
Sharmila A Bapat
NCCS, Pune
Off. Tel.: (020) 2570 8089
Email: sabapat@nccs.res.in
Gautam Biswas
IIT, Kanpur
Off. Tel.: (0521) 259 7656
Email: gtm@iitk.ac.in, gautam721b@gmail.com
Swagata Dasgupta
IIT, Kharagpur
Off. Tel.: (03222) 28 3306
Email: swagata@chem.iitkgp.ac.in; 28swagata@gmail.com
Jaya N Iyer
IMSc, Chennai
Off. Tel.: (044) 2254 3306
Email: jniyer@imsc.res.in; ji_chennai2003@yahoo.com
V Nagaraja
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2598
Email: vraj@iisc.ac.in
Imran Siddiqi
CCMB, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2719 2570
Email: imransiddi@gmail.com; imran@ccmb.res.in
D C Srivastava
IIT, Roorkee
Off. Tel.: (01332) 28 5558
Email: dpkesfes@gmail.com; deepak.srivastava@es.iitr.ac.in

Publications’ Committee

Ram Sagar Editor of Publications, (Chairperson)
IIA, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2254 1221
Email: ram_sagar0@yahoo.co.in, ramsagar@iiap.res.in
Gaiti Hasan Associate Editor of Publications
NCBS, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2366 6140
Email: gaiti@ncbs.res.in

Chief Editors

  • C S Rajan (Ashoka University, Sonepat), (Mathematical Sci.)
  • Giridhar U Kulkarni (CNSMS, Bengaluru), Bulletin of Materials Science
  • S Natarajan (IISc, Bengaluru), Journal of Chemical Sciences
  • Annapurni Subramaniam (IIA, Bengaluru), Journal of Astrophysics and Astronomy
  • D P Kasbekar (CDFD, Hyderabad), Journal of Genetics
  • Renee M Borges (IISc, Bengaluru) , (J. Biosciences)
  • N V Chalapathi Rao (BHU, Varanasi), Journal of Earth System Science
  • B Sury (ISI, Bengaluru), Resonance – Journal of Science Education
  • Mewa Singh (Mysore University, Mysore), Dialogue: Science, Scientists, and Society
  • J H Arakeri (IISc, Bengaluru), Sadhana – Academy Proceedings in Engg. Sciences (Mechanical Sciences)
  • K V S Hari (IISc, Bengaluru) , Sadhana – Academy Proceedings in Engg. Sciences (Electrical Sciences)
  • R K Shyamasundar (IIT, Mumbai) , Sadhana – Academy Proceedings in Engg. Sciences (Computer & Data Sci.)
  • Umesh V Waghmare (JNCASR, Bengaluru), Pramana (Journal of Physics)
  • Aswini Ghosh (IACS, Kolkata) , (Pramana)

Science Academies’ Education Panel, Bangalore

Puspendu K Das
IISc, Bengaluru (Chair)
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2662 Email: pkdas@iisc.ac.in, pkdasipc@gmail.com
Annapurni Subramaniam (Co-Chair)
IIA, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2254 1354 Email: purni@iiap.res.in

Hemalatha Balaram
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2812
Email: hb@jncasr.ac.in
Jaydeep K Basu
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 3281
Email: basu@iisc.ac.in
Joyoti Basu
Bose Institute, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2475 3293
Email: joyotibasu@gmail.com
Sudip Chattopadhyay
NIT, Durgapur
MOB : 94347 88029 Email: sudipchatto@gmail.com; sudip.chattopadhyay@bt.nitdgp.ac.in

Ashutosh Ghosh
Calcutta Univ, Kolkata
RES. Tel.: (033) 2359 9298
Email: ghosh_59@yahoo.com
Srubabati Goswami
PRL, Ahmedabad
Off. Tel.: (079) 2631 4471
Email: sruba@prl.res.in; sruba.goswami@gmail.com

Rama Kant
Delhi Univ., Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2766 6646/188
Email: rkant@chemistry.du.ac.in
Mj Mahan
TIFR, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2278 2648
Email: mahan.mj@gmail.com; mahan@math.tifr.res.in
Indranil Manna
BIT, Ranchi
Off. Tel.: (0651) 227 5402
Email: imanna@metal.iitkgp.ac.in, im_kgp@yahoo.co.in
Chandrabhas Narayana
RGCB, Thiruvananthapuram
Off. Tel.: (0471) 234 7973, 252 9400
Email: cbhas@jncasr.ac.in; cbhas@rgcb.res.in
Tanmaya Pathak
IIT, Kharagpur
Off. Tel.: (03222) 28 3342
Email: tpathak@chem.iitkgp.ac.in
Rajeev Patnaik
Panjab Univ, Chandigarh
Off. Tel.: (0172) 253 4250 Email: rajeevpatnaik@gmail.com

Vandana Prasad
BSIP, Lucknow
Off. Tel.: (0522) 274 2901
Email: prasad.van@gmail.com
K N Raghavan
IMSc, Chennai
Off. Tel.: (044) 2254 3264
Email: knr@imsc.res.in; knr.imsc@gmail.com
Nitin Saxena
IIT, Kanpur
Off. Tel.: (0512) 679 7588
Email: nitin@cse.iitk.ac.in

Science Academies’ Education Panel, New Delhi

Arup Bose
ISI, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2575 3409
Email: bosearu@gmail.com
E V Sampathkumaran
HBCSE, Mumbai
MOB : 98921 00402
Email: sampathev@gmail.com
Neelam Sangwan
CUH, Mahendergarh
MOB : 94157 66696
Email: nsangwan@cuh.ac.in, sangwan.neelam@gmail.com
Chitra Sarkar
AIIMS, New Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2659 3371
Email: sarkar.chitra@gmail.com

The National Academy Of Sciences, India Allahabad

Suchitra Banerjee
CIMAP, Lucknow
Email: suchitrabanerjee07@yahoo.com
Ghosh Swapan K
Univ. of Mumbai, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2754 9018
Email: swapankghosh@gmail.com
Jayaraman Girija
IIT, Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2659 1310 Email: jgirija@cas.iitd.ernet.in, girija.jayaraman@gmail.com
Pathak Anirban
JIIT, Noida
Email: anirbanpathak@yahoo.co.in

Panel On Scientific Values

Sandhya S Visweswariah (Chairperson)
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2542
Email: sandhya@iisc.ac.in
Subhasis Chaudhuri
IIT, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2576 7001
Email: sc@ee.iitb.ac.in
Mahadevan S
Bengaluru
Off. Res.: (080) 2334 7595
Email: mahimrdg@gmail.com
Sudipta Maiti
TIFR, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2278 2539
Email: sudipta.maiti@gmail.com
Sunil Mukhi
IISER, Pune
Off. Tel.: (020) 2590 8116
Email: sunil.mukhi@gmail.com
Shobhana Narasimhan (Ex-officio Member, Chair, Women in Science)
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2833
Email: shobhana@jncasr.ac.in
Radhakrishnan T P
Univ. of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2313 4827
Email: tpr@uohyd.ac.in
Ram Sagar (Ex-officio Member) Chair, Publications Committee)
IIA, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2254 1221
Email: ram_sagar0@yahoo.co.in; ramsagar@iiap.res.in

Panel On Women In Science

Shobhana Narasimhan (Chairperson)
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2833
Email: shobhana@jncasr.ac.in
Ruchi Anand
IIT, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2576 7165
Email: ruchi@chem.iitb.ac.in
Rohini M Godbole
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2845 , (080) 2360 7798
Email: rohini@iisc.ac.in
Neena Gupta
ISI, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2575 3421
Email: neenag@isical.ac.in
Uma Ramakrishnan
NCBS, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2366 6030
Email: uramakri@ncbs.res.in
R Ramaswamy
IIT, New Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2659 7969
Email: ramaswamy@iitd.ac.in; r.ramaswamy@gmail.com
H A RanganathCHG
CHG, Bengaluru
MOB.: 99023 00909
Email: haranganath@gmail.com

Finance Committee

V A Raghunathan (Chairperson)
RRI, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: 94808 36154
Email: varaghu@rri.res.in
Renee M Borges
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2360 2972 (080) 2293 3103
Email: renee@iisc.ac.in
Financial Adviser & Secretary, DST
DST, New Delhi
Email: fa-dst@nic.in; fa-moes@nic.in
Godbole Rohini M
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2845, (080) 2360 7798
Email: rohini@iisc.ac.in
Anand Kamavisdar
DST, New Dellhi
Email: a.kamavisdar@nic.in
K Vijayamohanan Pillai
IISER, Tirupati
Off. Tel.: (0877) 250 0236
Email: k.vijayamohanan@gmail.com; vijay@iisertirupati.ac.in
N Maheshchandra, Executive Secretary, IASc, Bengaluru
IASc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2266 1203
Email: execsec@ias.ac.in

Standing Committee On Staff

S K Tandon (Chairperson)
IISER, Bhopal
Off. Tel.: (0124) 422 7715
Email: sktand@iiserb.ac.in
M Renee Borges
IISc, Bangalore
Off. Tel.: (080) 2360 2972, (080) 2293 3103
Email: renee@iisc.ac.in
V Nagaraja
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2598
Email: vraj@iisc.ac.in
Mythily Ramaswamy
ICTS, Bangalore
Off. Tel.: (080) 2334 1138
Email: mythily54@gmail.com
K Vijayamohanan Pillai
IISER, Tirupati
Off. Tel.: (0877) 250 0236
Email: k.vijayamohanan@gmail.com; vijay@iisertirupati.ac.in



© 2021-2022 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.