SECTIONAL COMMITTEES

 

Sectional Committees are appointed by the Council. Their responsibilities include:-

  1. screening of the list of candidates for election to the Fellowship and reporting thereon to the Council;
  2. organising lectures and discussion meetings;
  3. preparation of articles and position papers for publication, and
  4. generally carrying out the programme of the Academy in their areas of specialization.

Members of the Sectional Committees have the responsibility of consulting other Fellows in carrying out their work.

Sectional Committees - 2019

Mathematical Sciences

Arup Bose
ISI, Kolkata(Convener)
Off. Tel.: (033) 2575 3409
Email: bosearu@gmail.com
Jaya N Iyer
IMSc, Chennai
Off. Tel.: (044) 2254 3306
Email: jniyer@imsc.res.in
Rahul Mukerjee
IIM, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2467 8300/173
Email: rmuk0902@gmail.com
Mukund Madhavan
CMI, Chennai
Off. Tel.: (044) 7196 1023
Email: madhavan@cmi.ac.in
A K Pani
IIT, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2576 7481
Email: akp@math.iitb.ac.in
A Raghuram
IISER, Pune
Off. Tel.: (020) 2590 8103
Email: raghuram@iiserpune.ac.in
V Srinivas
TIFR, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2278 2217
Email: srinivas@math.tifr.res.in
Kaushal Verma
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 3216
Email: kverma@iisc.ac.in

Physics

K S Narayan
JNCASR, Bengaluru (Convener)
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2822
Email: narayan@jncasr.ac.in
J N Chengalur
NCRA, Pune
Off. Tel.: (020) 2571 9248
Email: chengalur@ncra.tifr.res.in
Amol Dighe
TIFR, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2278 2423
Email: amol@theory.tifr.res.in
Arindam Ghosh
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 3288
Email: arindam@iisc.ac.in
Sanjay Jain
Univ. of Delhi, Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2766 7725/1342
Email: jain@physics.du.ac.in
G Ravindra Kumar
TIFR, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2278 2381
Email: grk@tifr.res.in
Krishnendu Sengupta
IACS, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2473 4971/2192
Email: tpks@iacs.res.in
Annapurni Subramaniam
IIA, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2254 1318
Email: purni@iiap.res.in

Chemistry

A Ajayaghosh
NIIST,Thiruvananthapuram (Convener)
Off. Tel.: (0471) 249 3599,(0471) 249 0324
Email: ajayaghosh@niist.res.in
Ashok K Ganguli
IIT, New Delhi
Email: ashok@chemistry.iitd.ac.in

H N Ghosh
BARC, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2559 0300
Email: hnghosh@barc.gov.in, hnghosh2004@yahoo.com
Rama Kant
Univ. of Delhi, Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2766 6646/188
Email: rkant@chemistry.du.ac.in

Chitra Mandal
IICB, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2499 5717
Email: chitra_mandal@yahoo.com, cmandal@iicb.res.in
J Narasimha Moorthy
IIT, Kanpur
Off. Tel.: (0512) 259 7438
Email: moorthy@iitk.ac.in

D S Pandey
BHU, Varanasi
Off. Tel.: (0542) 670 2480
Email: dspbhu@bhu.ac.in
Swapan K Pati
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2839
Email: pati@jncasr.ac.in
Amitava Patra
IACS, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2473 4971
Email: msap@iacs.res.in

Engineering & Technology

Jayant R Haritsa
IISc, Bengaluru (Convener)
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2793
Email: jharitsa@gmail.com
Subhasish Dey
IIT, Kharagpur
Off. Tel.: (03222) 28 3418
Email: sdey@iitkgp.ac.in
Pradip Dutta
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 3225
Email: pradip@iisc.ac.in
Subir K Ghosh
Vivekananda Univ., Howrah
Off. Tel.: (033) 2654 9999
Email: ghosh@tifr.res.in
Indranil Manna
IIT, Kharagpur
Off. Tel.: (03222) 28 3266
Email: imanna@metal.iitkgp.ac.in
A B Pandit
Inst. of Chemical Technology, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 3361 1111
Email: dr.pandit@gmail.com, ab.pandit@ictmumbai.edu.in
Bhim Singh
IIT, New Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2659 1045
Email: bsingh@ee.iitd.ac.in, bhimsinghr@gmail.com
P Vijay Kumar
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 3155
Email: pvk@iisc.ac.in

Medicine

Gagandeep Kang
CMC, Vellore (Convener)
Off. Tel.: (0416) 228 2052
Email: gkang@cmcvellore.ac.in, gkang@thsti.res.in
Amita Aggarwal
SGPGI, Lucknow
Off. Tel.: (0522) 249 4296
Email: amita@sgpgi.ac.in
Anirban Basu
NBRC, Manesar
Off. Tel.: (0124) 284 5225
Email: anirban.nbrc@gmail.com
Mitali Chatterjee
IPGMER, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2204 1428
Email: ilatim@vsnl.net, ilatimc@gmail.com
Ravinder Goswami
AIIMS, New Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2659 4272
Email: gosravinder@hotmail.com
Vikram Mathews
CMC, Vellore
Off. Tel.: (0416) 228 2891
Email: vikram@cmcvellore.ac.in, vmathews6698@gmail.com
M Radhakrishna Pillai
RGCB, Thiruvananthapuram
Off. Tel.: (0471) 234 7973, (0471) 234 1716
Email: mrpillai@rgcb.res.in
Shyam Sundar
BHU, Varanasi
Off. Tel.: (0542) 236 9632
Email: drshyamsundar@hotmail.com

Earth & Planetary Sciences

S K Satheesh
IISc, Bengaluru (Convener)
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 3070
Email: profsks@gmail.com, satheesh@iisc.ac.in
Archana Bhattacharyya
IIG, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2748 4147
Email: abh@iigs.iigm.res.in
Amit K Patra
NARL, Chittoor
Off. Tel.: (08585) 27 2001
Email: akpatra@narl.gov.in
N V Chalapathi Rao
BHU, Varanasi
Email: nvcr100@gmail.com, nvcrao@bhu.ac.in

V V S S Sarma
NOI, Visakhapatnam
Off. Tel.: (0891) 253 9180
Email: sarmav@nio.org
Pulak Sengupta
Jadavpur Univ., Kolkata
Email: pulaksg@gmail.com

Sunil K Singh
NIO, Dona Paula
Off. Tel.: (0832) 245 0500
Email: sunil@nio.org
Ram Ratan Yadav
WIHG, Dehra Dun
Email: rryadav2000@gmail.com

Animal/Plant Sciences

Aparna Dutta Gupta
Univ. of Hyderabad, Hyderabad(Convener-Animal Sci.)
Off. Tel.: (040) 2313 4560
Email: apdgsl@uohyd.ernet.in
Ramesh Sonti
NIPGR, New Delhi (Convener-Plant Sci.)
Off. Tel.: (011) 2674 2267
Email: sonti@nipgr.ac.in, director@nipgr.ac.in

Maneesha S Inamdar
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2818
Email: inamdar@jncasr.ac.in
Subeer S Majumdar
NIAB, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2312 0102
Email: subeer@niab.org.in
N B Ramachandra
Univ. of Mysore,Mysore
Off. Tel.: (0821) 241 9781, (0821) 241 9888
Email: nallurbr@gmail.com, ramachandra@genetics.uni-mysore.ac.in
Susanta Roychoudhury
SGCCRI, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2453 2781-83/2115
Email: susantarc@gmail.com

Maitrayee DasGupta
Univ. of Calcutta, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2461 471
Email: maitrayee_d@hotmail.com
Paramjit Khurana
Univ. of Delhi, Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2411 5096
Email: param@genomeindia.org
R Uma Shaanker
Univ. of Agricultural Sciences, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2363 6713
Email: umashaanker@gmail.com

General Biology

Umesh Varshney
IISc, Bengaluru (Convener)
Off. Tel.: (080) 2360 0169, (080) 2293 2686
Email: varshney@iisc.ac.in
Anand K Bachhawat
IISER, Mohali
Off. Tel.: 98882 24948
Email: anand@iisermohali.ac.in
Hemalatha Balaram
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2812
Email: hb@jncasr.ac.in
Nagasuma Chandra
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2892
Email: nchandra@iisc.ac.in
Anuradha Lohia
Presidency University, Kolkata
Email: amoeba22@gmail.com, vc@presiuniv.ac.in
Roop Mallik
TIFR, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2278 2702
Email: roop@tifr.res.in
Amit P Sharma
ICGEB, New Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2674 1731
Email: amit.icgeb@gmail.com
D Siddavattam
Univ. of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2313 5478
Email: sdsl@uohyd.ernet.in, siddavattam@gmail.com

SUB-COMMITTEE

Raman Chair And Janaki Ammal Chair

Partha P Majumder
NIBMG, Kalyani (Chairperson)
Off. Tel.: (033) 2589 2150, (033) 2589 2151
Email: ppm1@nibmg.ac.in
D Balasubramanian
LVPEI, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2354 3652, (040) 3061 2501
Email: dbala@lvpei.org
Dipankar Chatterji
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2836, (080) 2360 0137
Email: dipankar@iisc.ac.in
M S Raghunathan
Mumbai
Tel. Res.: (022) 2550 4766
Email: msr@math.iitb.ac.in, adabusisr@gmail.com
T V Ramakrishnan
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (0542) 236 7005 (080) 2293 2581
Email: tvrama2002@yahoo.co.in, tvrama@physics.iisc.ernet.in
R Ramaswamy
IIT, New Delhi
Tel. Res.: (011) 2659 7969
Email: ramaswamy@chemistry.iitd.ac.in, r.ramaswamy@gmail.com
C N R Rao
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2365 3075, (080) 2208 2761
Email: cnrrao@jncasr.ac.in
A K Sood
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2360 2238, (080) 2293 2964
Email: asood@iisc.ac.in, asood1951@gmail.com

Jubilee Chair Sub-committee

V A Raghunathan
RRI, Bengaluru (Chairperson)
Off. Tel.: 94808 36154
Email: varaghu@rri.res.in
Gautam Biswas
IIT, Guwahati
Off. Tel.: (0361) 258 2005 (0361) 269 0401
Email: gtm@iitg.ac.in, gtm@iitk.ac.in
Rohini Godbole
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2845 (080) 2360 7798
Email: rohini@iisc.ac.in, godbolerm@gmail.com
V Nagaraja
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2362 2762 (080) 2360 0668
Email: president@jncasr.ac.in, vraj@iisc.ac.in
R Varadarajan
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2612
Email: varadar@iisc.ac.in

Publications’ Committee

Amitabh Joshi (JNCASR, Bengaluru)
Editor of Publications (Chairperson)
Off. Tel.: Tel. Off. (080) 2208 2802-3,
Mobile: 93413 54233; 70228 88742
Email: email: ajoshi@jncasr.ac.in
Ram Sagar (IIA, Bengaluru)
Associate Editor of Publications and
Off. Tel.: Managing Editor, IASc Conference Series
Tel. Off. (080) 2254 1221, Mobile: 98864 43436
Email: email: ram_sagar0@yahoo.co.in; ramsagar@iiap.res.in

Chief Editors

  • P Sankaran (IMSc, Chennai), Proceedings (Mathematical Sciences)
  • Giridhar U Kulkarni (CNSMS, Bengaluru), Bulletin of Materials Science
  • S Natarajan (IISc, Bengaluru), Journal of Chemical Sciences
  • Annapurni Subramaniam (IIA, Bengaluru), Journal of Astrophysics and Astronomy
  • H A Ranganath (Bengaluru), Journal of Genetics
  • B Jagadeeshwar Rao (IISER, Tirupati), Journal of Biosciences
  • N V Chalapathi Rao (BHU, Varanasi), Journal of Earth System Science
  • N Sathyamurthy (JNCASR, Bengaluru), Resonance – Journal of Science Education
  • Mewa Singh (Mysore University, Mysore), Dialogue: Science, Scientists, and Society
  • J H Arakeri (IISc, Bengaluru), Sadhana – Academy Proceedings in Engg. Sciences (Mechanical Sciences)
  • K V S Hari (IISc, Bengaluru) , Sadhana – Academy Proceedings in Engg. Sciences (Electrical Sciences)
  • R K Shyamasundar (IIT, Mumbai) , Sadhana – Academy Proceedings in Engg. Sciences (Computer & Data Sci.)
  • Umesh V Waghmare (JNCASR, Bengaluru), Pramana (Journal of Physics)

Science Academies’ Education Panel, Bangalore

M R N Murthy
IISc, Bengaluru (Chairperson)
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2458
Email: mrn@iisc.ac.in, mbumrn@gmail.com
D G Kanhere
Univ. of Pune, Pune (Co-Chairperson)
Email: dgkanhere@gmail.com

Suvendra N Bhattacharyya
IICB, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2499 5783
Email: suvendra@iicb.res.in
Amitabha Chattopadhyay
CCMB, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2719 2578 (040) 2716 0059
Email: amit@ccmb.res.in
Nitin Chattopadhyay
Jadavpur Univ., Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2457 2776
Email: nitin.chattopadhyay@ yahoo.com
Arun K Grover
Punjab Engg. College, Chandigarh
Email: arunkgrover@gmail.com

Indranil Manna
IIT, Kharagpur
Off. Tel.: (03222) 28 3266
Email: imanna@metal.iitkgp.ac.in, im_kgp@yahoo.co.in
C Narayana
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2810
Email: cbhas@jncasr.ac.in

Sourav Pal
IISER, Mohanpur
Off. Tel.: (033) 6634 0012
Email: s.pal@iiserkol.ac.in,director@iiserkol.ac.in
Dhananjai Pandey
IIT, Varanasi
Off. Tel.: (0542) 236 8106, (0542) 670 2078
Email: dpandey_bhu@ yahoo.co.in
T Pradeep
IIT, Chennai
Off. Tel.: (044) 2257 4208
Email: pradeep@iitm.ac.in
K N Raghavan
IMSc, Chennai
Off. Tel.: (044) 2254 3264
Email: knr@imsc.res.in knr.imsc@gmail.com
G Rajasekaran
IMSc, Chennai
Off. Tel.: (044) 2254 3206
Email: graj@imsc.res.in
Pulak Sengupta
Jadavpur Univ., Kolkata
Email: pulaksg@gmail.com

Annapurni Subramaniam
IIA, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2254 1318
Email: purni@iiap.res.in

Science Academies’ Education Panel, New Delhi

Madhu Dikshit
THSTI, Faridabad
Email: drmadhudikshit@gmail. com
I B S Passi
Panjab Univ., Chandigarh
Email: ibspassi@yahoo.co.in passi@pu.ac.in
Diptiman Sen
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2974
Email: diptiman@iisc.ac.in
K D Sen
Univ. of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 2313 4809
Email: kds77@uohyd.ac.in, kalidas.sen@gmail.com

The National Academy Of Sciences, India Allahabad

V P Dimri
Hyderabad
Off. Tel.: (040) 27012337
Email: dimrivp@yahoo.com, vpdimri@gmail.com
Paramjit Khurana
Univ. of Delhi, Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2411 5096
Email: param@genomeindia.org
Swapan K Ghosh
Univ. of Mumbai, Mumbai
Email: swapankghosh@gmail.com
Gadadhar Misra
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2712
Email: gadadhar.misra@gmail.com, gm@iisc.ac.in

Panel On Scientific Values

Sunil Mukhi
IISER, Pune (Chairperson)
Off. Tel.: (020) 2590 8116
Email: sunil.mukhi@gmail.com
Subhasis Chaudhuri
IIT, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2576 7437
Email: sc@ee.iitb.ac.in
Chanda J. Jog
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 3285, (080) 2360 7703
Email: cjjog@iisc.ac.in
Mj Mahan
TIFR, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2278 2648
Email: mahan.mj@gmail.com, mahan@math.tifr.res.in
D S Ray
IACS, Kolkata
Off. Tel.: (033) 2473 5374
Email: pcdsr@iacs.res.in
Jaya S. Tyagi
AIIMS, New Delhi
Off. Tel.: (011) 2659 3306
Email: jstyagi@aiims.edu, jstyagi@gmail.com

Ex-officio Panel Members:

Amitabh Joshi
Editor of Publications (Chairperson)
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Tel. Off. (080) 2208 2802-3
Mobile: 93413 54233, 70228 88742
Email: email: ajoshi@jncasr.ac.in
Shubha Tole
Panel on Women in Science (Chairperson)
TIFR, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2278 2878
Email: shubhatole@gmail.com

Panel On Women In Science

Shubha Tole
TIFR, Mumbai (Chairperson)
Off. Tel.: (022) 2278 2878
Email: shubhatole@gmail.com
Shinjini Bhatnagar
THSTI, Faridabad
Off. Tel.: (0129) 287 6351
Email: shinjini.bhatnagar@, thsti.res.in
Rohini M Godbole
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2845 (080) 2360 7798
Email: rohini@iisc.ac.in
Maneesha Inamdar
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2818
Email: inamdar@jncasr.ac.in
Deepa Khushalani
TIFR, Mumbai
Off. Tel.: (022) 2278 2476/ 2756
Email: khushalani@tifr.res.in
L S Shashidhara
IISER, Pune
Off. Tel.: (020) 2590 8001
Email: ls.shashidhara@, iiserpune.ac.in

Finance Committee

V A Raghunathan
RRI, Bengaluru (Chairperson)
Off. Tel.: 94808 36154
Email: varaghu@rri.res.in
Renee Borges
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2360 2972 (080) 2293 3103
Email: renee@iisc.ac.in
Financial Adviser & Joint Secretary
DST
Email: fa-dst@nic.in, fa-moes@nic.in
R Varadarajan
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2612
Email: varadar@iisc.ac.in
Umesh V Waghmare
JNCASR Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2842
Email: waghmare@jncasr.ac.in
Executive Secretary
Off. Tel.: (080) 2266 1203
Email: execsec@ias.ac.in

Investment Committee

V A Raghunathan
RRI, Bengaluru (Chairperson)
Off. Tel.: 94808 36154
Email: varaghu@rri.res.in
Renee Borges
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2360 2972 (080) 2293 3103
Email: renee@iisc.ac.in
R Varadarajan
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 2612
Email: varadar@iisc.ac.in
Umesh V Waghmare
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2842
Email: waghmare@jncasr.ac.in
Executive Secretary
Off. Tel.: (080) 2266 1203
Email: execsec@ias.ac.in

Standing Committee On Staff

Dipankar Chatterji
IISc, Bengaluru (Chairperson)
Off. Tel.: (080) 2360 0137 (080) 2293 2836
Email: dipankar@iisc.ac.in
V Nagaraja
JNCASR, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2208 2752, (080) 2360 0668
Email: vraj@iisc.ac.in, president@jncasr.ac.in
J Srinivasan
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2293 3068
Email: jayes@iisc.ac.in
Uday Maitra
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2360 1968 (080) 2293 2690
Email: maitra@iisc.ac.in, maitrau@gmail.com
Renee Borges
IISc, Bengaluru
Off. Tel.: (080) 2360 2972 (080) 2293 3103
Email: renee@iisc.ac.in

© 2017-2019 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.