82nd Annual Meeting

Dates : 4 to 6 November 2016
Venue : IISER, Bhopal


4 November 2016 (Friday)

09.00 - 09.30

(Venue: Lecture Hall Complex)

09.30 - 10.00

Inauguration and introduction of Fellows

Session 1A

Presidential Address

10.00 - 10.45

Ram Ramaswamy, JNU, New Delhi
Chimeras: A spontaneous emergence of dynamical disorder

10.45 - 11.30

Book Release
A Life in Science – Author: Prof. C N R Rao,
Published by Penguin Random House India

11.35 - 12.00

Group Photograph & Tea break

Session 1B

Inaugural Lectures of Fellows/Associates
Chairperson: Subrata Ghosh, IACS, Kolkata

12.00 - 12.20

Arun Chattopadhyay, IIT, Guwahati
Decorating the surface of a quantum dot with molecules

12.25 - 12.45

Sanjib K. Agarwalla, IoP, Bhubaneswar
Neutrino Oscillation Parameters: Present Status and Future Roadmap

12.50 - 14.00

Lunch break

Session 1C

Inaugural Lectures of Fellows
(Venue: Auditorium – Visitors’ Hostel)
Chairperson: Probir Roy, Kolkata

14.00 - 14.20

Javed N Agrewala, IMTECH, Chandigarh
Caerulomycin A suppresses arthritis symptoms by expanding regulatory T cells

14.25 - 14.45

A Raghuram, IISER, Pune
From calculus to number theory

14.50 - 15.30

Tea break

Session 1D

Walter Kohn Memorial Symposium
(Venue: Visitors’ Hostel)
Chairperson: H R Krishnamurthy, IISc, Bengaluru


T V Ramakrishnan, BHU, Varanasi
Walter Kohn and the Rise of Condensed Matter Physics


Swapan K Ghosh, BARC, Mumbai
Density functional theory for materials modeling at different length scales: A legacy of Walter Kohn


Tanusri Saha-Dasgupta, SN Bose Natl. Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata
Beyond the conventional DFT: Life with “U”


Umesh V Waghmare, JNCASR, Bengaluru
Electrons in a Crystal: Localized versus Extended Orbitals

17.30 - 18.00

Tea break

Session 1E

Public lecture
(Venue: L5 — Lecture Hall Complex)
Chairperson: Ram Ramaswamy, JNU, New Delhi

18.00 - 19.00

Rajendra Singh, Tarun Bharat Sangh, Alwar (Rajasthan)
Indigenous knowledge system of water management in India

5 November 2016 (Saturday)

Session 2A

Special Lecture
(Venue: Auditorium – Visitors’ Hostel)
Chairperson: Subhash Chaturvedi, IISER Bhopal

09.00 - 09.40

Sunil Mukhi, IISER, Pune
Academic Ethics in India: What We Must Do

Session 2B

Inaugural Lectures of Fellows/Associates
Chairperson: S Thangavelu, IISc, Bengaluru

09.40 - 10.00

Pradyut Ghosh, IACS, Kolkata
Recognition, Sensing, Separation of Anions

10.05 - 10.25

Ankur A. Kulkarni, IIT, Mumbai
Towards a convex-analytic view of impossibility results in stochastic control and information theory

10.30 - 10.50

Tea break

Session 2C

Symposium “Our Second Genome”
Chairperson: Partha P Majumder, NIBMG, Kolkata


Partha P. Majumder, NIBMG, Kolkata
An Overview of Our Second Genome


Sharmila S Mande, TCS, Pune
Gut Microbiome and Health


Vineet K. Sharma, IISER, Bhopal
Novel insights into The Human Microbiome


Souvik Mukherjee, NIBMG, Kolkata
The Microbiome in Skin Health and Disease


Shekhar C Mande, NCCS, Pune
The Indian human microbiome initiative

13.00 - 14.00

Lunch break

Session 2D

Inaugural Lectures of Fellows/Associates
Chairperson: P N Pandita, IISc, Bengaluru

14.00 - 14.20

G C Anupama, IIA, Bangalore
Time Domain Astronomy - Explosive Transients

14.25 - 14.45

S Ganesh, IIT, Kanpur
Role of non-coding RNAs in cellular stress response

14.50 - 15.10

K N Balaji, IISc, Bengaluru
Mycobacteria scapegoat host epigenetic factors and non-coding RNAs to sneak through host immune responses

15.15 - 15.35

Anshu Pandey, IISc, Bengaluru
Chemistry with bigger atoms

15.40 - 16.00

Tea break

16.00 - 17.30

Business Meeting of Fellows
(Venue: L3 – Lecture Hall Complex)

17.30 - 18.00

Tea break

Session 2E

Public Lecture
Chairperson: Ram Ramaswamy, JNU, New Delhi

18.00 - 19.00

Ravi Korisettar, Dr VS Wakankar Archaeological Research Institute, Dharwad
Importance of the Vindhya Basin in the Prehistory of the Indian Subcontinent

19.00 - 20.00



Cultural Programme
Mehfil-e-Sama, A Qawwali Night by Emerald The Band
(Venue: L5– Lecture Hall Complex)

6 November 2016 (Sunday)

Session 3A

Inaugural Lectures of Fellows/Associates
(Venue: Auditorium – Visitors’ Hostel)
Chairperson: S S Sane, IIT-Bombay

09.00 - 09.20

Krishna P Kaliappan, IIT, Bombay
Domino strategy to synthesis of natural products and heterocycles

09.25 - 09.45

Appa Rao Podile, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
Transglycosylation by bacterial chitinases

09.50 - 10.10

N Ravishankar, IISc, Bengaluru
Intriguing Structure and Transport Behaviour of Ultrathin Single Crystalline Gold Nanowires

10.15 - 10.35

B. Anand, IIT, Guwahati
Homing mechanism of the CRISPR-Cas Adaptive Immune System

10.40 - 11.00

Tea break

Session 3B

Inaugural Lectures of Fellows/Associates
Chairperson: S V Bhat, IISc, Bengaluru

11.00 - 11.20

Tirthankar Bhattacharyya, IISc, Bengaluru
What do analytic functions look like?

11.25 - 11.45

Pratap Raychaudhuri, TIFR, Mumbai
Low temperature scanning tunneling spectroscopy

11.50 - 12.10

G R Tripathy, IISER, Pune
Re-Os geochronology: Clues for past marine and atmospheric conditions

Session 3C

Special Lecture
Chairperson: S Chandrasekaran, IISc, Bengaluru

12.15 - 13.00

Amitabh Joshi, JNCASR, Bengaluru
Experimental ecology and evolution in the laboratory

13.00 - 14.00


  • Academy News

    IAS Logo
    • Theory Of Evolution

      Posted on 23 January 2018

      Joint Statement by the Three Science Academies of India on the teaching of the theory of evolution

      How Things Break – The Mechanics of Dynamic Fracture

      Posted on 16th February 2018

      SPEAKER: Prof. Krishnaswamy Ravi-Chandar

      VENUE: Faculty Hall, Indian Institute of Science

      23 February 2018 ǀ 1500
      Event poster

    • Introducing: Summer Schools

      Posted on 21 December 2017

      ASTROPHYSICS: An Observational View of the Universe.

      Math Art and Design: MAD about Math, Math Education and Outreach

      Math and Finance

    • Discussion Meeting on Mechanics / Materials Interface

      Posted on 16 February 2018

      Meeting will be from 18th to 22nd February, 2018
      in Evolve Back Resorts, Coorg, Karnataka, India

    • 29th Mid-year meeting

      Posted on 19 January 2018

      The 29th Mid-year meeting of the Academy will be held from 29–30 June 2018 in Infosys, Mysuru

    • 84th Annual meeting

      Posted on 19 January 2018

      The 84th Annual meeting of the Academy will be held from 2–4 November 2018 in Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

    • New Fellows and Honorary Fellow

      Posted on 1 January 2018

      List of Fellows and Honorary Fellow elected during 2017 (effective 2018).

    • Upcoming Refresher Courses

      Experimental Physics
      26th March to 10th April, 2018
      Rajiv Gandhi University, Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh

      Statistical Mechanics
      02 to 16 May 2018
      Post Graduate and Research Department of Physics, Bishop Moore College, Kerala

    • In remembrance

      Most recent entry 8 January 2018

      The Academy regrets to report the passing of:

© 2017 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.