Raman Chair


The Raman Chair was instituted in 1972 by the Government of India to commemorate the memory of the founder of the Academy, Sir C. V. Raman. Eminent scientists are invited by the Council of the Academy to occupy the Chair, for periods of between six weeks and six months. Raman Professors who have occupied the Chair are:

Period Name Affiliation
Jul. - Oct. 1974 Prof. R. Hanbury Brown*, F.R.S. University of Sydney (Australia)
Feb. - Mar. 1979 and
Nov. 1979
Prof. Dorothy Hodgkin* Nobel Laureate
University of Oxford (UK)
Sep. - Dec. 1979 Prof. N. Bloembergen Nobel Laureate
Harvard University, Cambridge (USA)
Dec. 1979 - Feb. 1980 Prof. Charles Frank* University of Bristol (UK)
Sep. - Dec. 1980 Prof. K. R. Ramanathan* Physical Research Laboratory
Ahmedabad (India)
Oct. 1982 - Feb. 1983 Prof. George W. Series* University of Reading (UK)
Dec. 1982 - Feb. 1983 Prof. G. Pontecorvo* Imperial Cancer Research Fund
London (UK)
Dec. 1982 - Mar. 1983 Prof. J. B. Goodenough University of Oxford (UK)
Jan. - Apr. 1986 Prof. B. S. Blumberg Nobel Laureate
Fox Chase Cancer Center, Philadelphia (USA)
Oct. 1990 - Jan. 1991 Prof. John T. Bonner Princeton University (USA)
Dec. 1993 - Jan. 1994 Prof. Anatol Roshko California Institute of Technology
Pasadena (USA)
Nov. 1994 - Jan. 1995 Prof. A. K. Ramdas Purdue University
West Lafayette (USA)
Dec. 1995 - Feb. 1996 Prof. Sir Hermann Bondi Churchill College
Cambridge (UK)
Sep. - Oct. 1996 Prof. B. I. Halperin Harvard University
Cambridge (USA)
Feb. - Apr. 1997 Prof. Dan P. McKenzie University of Cambridge (UK)
Dec. 1998 and
Dec. 1999
Prof. T. N. Krishnamurti Florida State University
Tallahassee (USA)
Feb. - Mar. 2001 Prof. Itamar Procaccia Weizmann Institute of Science
Rehovot (Israel)
Oct. - Nov. 2001 Prof. Albert J. Libchaber The Rockefeller University
New York (USA)
Jun. - Jul. 2002 Prof. K. R. Sreenivasan University of Maryland
College Park (USA)
Feb. - Mar. 2003 Prof. Philippe Nozieres Institut Laue-Langevin
Grenoble Cedex (France)
Dec. 2003 - Jan. 2004 Prof. Robert Williams Space Telescope Science Institute
Baltimore (USA)
Dec. 2004 - Jan. 2005 Prof. Abhay Ashtekar Pennsylvania State University
University Park (USA)
Nov. - Dec. 2005 and
Oct. - Nov. 2006
Prof. Anne McLaren* Cancer Research UK
Gurdon Institute, Cambridge (UK)
Dec. 2007 - Jan. 2008 Prof. Sajeev John University of Toronto
Toronto (Canada)
Jan. - Feb. 2009 Prof. S. R. S. Varadhan Courant Institute, New York University
New York (USA)
Apr. 2009 and
Oct. - Nov. 2009
Prof. Marc Fontecave Université Joseph Fourier
Grenoble (France)
Jul. - Sep. 2010 Prof. Huzihiro Araki Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences
Kyoto University, Kyoto (Japan)
Sep. - Oct. 2011 and
Dec. 2011
Prof. Anthony K. Cheetham University of Cambridge
Cambridge (UK)
Oct. 2011 and
Jan. - Feb. 2012
Prof. Sauro Succi Istituto Applicazioni Calcolo
Rome (Italy)
Feb. - Mar. 2014,
Aug. - Sept. 2014 and
Jan. 2015
Prof. Michael L. Klein Temple University
Philadelphia (USA)
Feb. – Mar. 2016 Prof. T. J. Pedley University of Cambridge
Cambridge (UK)


  • Academy News

    IAS Logo
    • Theory Of Evolution

      Posted on 23 January 2018

      Joint Statement by the Three Science Academies of India on the teaching of the theory of evolution

      How Things Break – The Mechanics of Dynamic Fracture

      Posted on 16th February 2018

      SPEAKER: Prof. Krishnaswamy Ravi-Chandar

      VENUE: Faculty Hall, Indian Institute of Science

      23 February 2018 ǀ 1500
      Event poster

    • Introducing: Summer Schools

      Posted on 21 December 2017

      ASTROPHYSICS: An Observational View of the Universe.

      Math Art and Design: MAD about Math, Math Education and Outreach

      Math and Finance

    • Summer Research Fellowship Programme 2018

      Posted on 21 February 2018
    • FAST-SF 2018

      Posted on 23 February 2018
    • Discussion Meeting on Mechanics / Materials Interface

      Posted on 16 February 2018

      Meeting will be from 18th to 22nd February, 2018
      in Evolve Back Resorts, Coorg, Karnataka, India

    • 29th Mid-year meeting

      Posted on 19 January 2018

      The 29th Mid-year meeting of the Academy will be held from 29–30 June 2018 in Infosys, Mysuru

    • 84th Annual meeting

      Posted on 19 January 2018

      The 84th Annual meeting of the Academy will be held from 2–4 November 2018 in Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

    • New Fellows and Honorary Fellow

      Posted on 1 January 2018

      List of Fellows and Honorary Fellow elected during 2017 (effective 2018).

    • Upcoming Refresher Courses

      Experimental Physics
      26th March to 10th April, 2018
      Rajiv Gandhi University, Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh

      Statistical Mechanics
      02 to 16 May 2018
      Post Graduate and Research Department of Physics, Bishop Moore College, Kerala

    • In remembrance

      Most recent entry 8 January 2018

      The Academy regrets to report the passing of:

© 2017 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.