Memorandum of Association

Registered on 27 April 1934 under the Societies Registration Act, 1860.

I. The name of the Association shall be `The Indian Academy of Sciences'.

II. The objects of the Academy are:

  1. To promote the progress and uphold the cause of science, both in pure and applied branches.
  2. To co-operate with the existing Provincial Academies having similar objects and with others when founded.
  3. To encourage and publish important researches in the branches of science comprehended by the Academy and to represent internationally the scientific work of India.
  4. To undertake, control and direct scientific enterprises of all-India significance and to participate in similar international activities.
  5. To collect, sort out and disseminate information concerning the industrial, economic and labour problems relating to India and other progressive countries.
  6. To publish books, memoirs, journals, proceedings and transactions relating to scientific researches in pure and applied branches initiated by the Academy and those conducted under the direction of Provincial Academies, the Universities and Government Scientific Institutions.
  7. To organise and arrange for the meetings of the Congresses, Committees and Conferences for reading and discussing papers submitted to the Academy, advising Government and other bodies on scientific and other matters referred to the Academy and to co-operate with the National Research Council when instituted.
  8. To secure and administer funds, grants and endowments for the furtherance of scientific research.
  9. To undertake and execute all other acts which shall assist in and promote the usefulness, aims and purposes of the Academy.

III. The Academy shall not make any profit nor award bonus to any of its members but may pay remuneration to the members of its permanent staff. In addition, it may make awards of prizes and research grants to individuals and organisations for the advancement of scientific knowledge.

IV. Fellows of Academy are entitled to use the letter `FASc' after their names as the recognised abbreviation indicative of their fellowship.

  • Academy News

    IAS Logo
    • Theory Of Evolution

      Posted on 23 January 2018

      Joint Statement by the Three Science Academies of India on the teaching of the theory of evolution

      Animal Sex Determination by Genes, Chromosomes and Environment

      Posted on 12th March 2018

      SPEAKER: Prof. Jennifer A Marshal Graves

      VENUE: Faculty Hall, Indian Institute of Science

      13 March 2018 ǀ 1600
      Event poster

    • Introducing: Summer Schools

      Posted on 21 December 2017

      ASTROPHYSICS: An Observational View of the Universe.

      Math Art and Design: MAD about Math, Math Education and Outreach

      Math and Finance

    • Summer Research Fellowship Programme 2018

      Posted on 21 February 2018
    • FAST-SF 2018

      Posted on 23 February 2018
    • Interaction Meeting on Women In Science

      Posted on 12 March 2018

      Meeting will be on March 13, 2018
      in Multimedia Room, Physics Department, IISc

    • 29th Mid-year meeting

      Posted on 19 January 2018

      The 29th Mid-year meeting of the Academy will be held from 29–30 June 2018 in Infosys, Mysuru

    • 84th Annual meeting

      Posted on 19 January 2018

      The 84th Annual meeting of the Academy will be held from 2–4 November 2018 in Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

    • New Fellows and Honorary Fellow

      Posted on 1 January 2018

      List of Fellows and Honorary Fellow elected during 2017 (effective 2018).

    • Upcoming Refresher Courses

      02 to 14 May, 2018
      Ramanujan Institute for Advanced Study in Mathematics, University of Madras

      11 to 25 June, 2018
      Dayanand Science College, Latur (M.S.)

      Experimental Physics
      14 to 29 June, 2018
      Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra, Ranchi

    • In remembrance

      Most recent entry 8 January 2018

      The Academy regrets to report the passing of:

© 2017 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.