The Indian Academy of Sciences was founded and registered as a society in 1934 with the aim of promoting the progress and upholding the cause of science, in both pure and applied branches. It strives to meet its objectives through promotion of original research and dissemination of scientific knowledge to the community via meetings, discussions, seminars, symposia and publications. Indian Academy of Sciences is now an autonomous institution under the Department of Science and Technology (DST) of the Government of India. It is fully funded by DST.

Prof. C. V. Raman with his scopeProf Raman with Sir Mirza Ismail at the Inaugural Meeting of the Academy at Bengaluru, on 31 July 1934

The Academy was founded in 1934 by Professor C. V. Raman (Nobel Laureate) and was registered as a Society under the Societies Registration Act of 1860, on 27 April 1934. The formal inauguration took place on 31 July 1934 with 65 Founding Fellows. On the same day, the first general meeting of Fellows was held at which C. V. Raman was elected its President, and the draft constitution of the Academy was approved and adopted. The first issue of the Academy "Proceedings" appeared in two sections in July 1934. Since then, the "Proceedings" were split into theme journals and several new ones added.

The Academy presently has 1077 Fellows, 57 Honorary Fellows, and 59 Associates on its rolls.

Past Presidents:

1934 - 1970
Prof. C. V. Raman
1971 - 1973
Prof. T. S. Sadasivan
1974 - 1976
Prof. M. G. K. Menon
1977 - 1979
Prof. S. Dhawan
1980 - 1982
Dr. S. Varadarajan
1983 - 1985
Prof. S. Ramaseshan
1986 - 1988
Prof. O. Siddiqi
1989 - 1991
Prof. C. N. R. Rao
1992 - 1994
Prof. R. Narasimha
1995 - 1997
Prof. P. Rama Rao
1998 - 2000
Prof. N. Kumar
2001 - 2003
Dr K. Kasturirangan
2004 - 2006
Prof. T. V. Ramakrishnan
2007 - 2009
Prof. D. Balasubramanian
2010 - 2012
Prof. A. K. Sood
2013 - 2015
Prof. Dipankar Chatterji
2016 -
Prof. Ramakrishna Ramaswamy
  • Academy News

    IAS Logo
    • Theory Of Evolution

      Posted on 23 January 2018

      Joint Statement by the Three Science Academies of India on the teaching of the theory of evolution

      Animal Sex Determination by Genes, Chromosomes and Environment

      Posted on 12th March 2018

      SPEAKER: Prof. Jennifer A Marshal Graves

      VENUE: Faculty Hall, Indian Institute of Science

      13 March 2018 ǀ 1600
      Event poster

    • Introducing: Summer Schools

      Posted on 21 December 2017

      ASTROPHYSICS: An Observational View of the Universe.

      Math Art and Design: MAD about Math, Math Education and Outreach

      Math and Finance

    • Summer Research Fellowship Programme 2018

      Posted on 21 February 2018
    • FAST-SF 2018

      Posted on 23 February 2018
    • Interaction Meeting on Women In Science

      Posted on 12 March 2018

      Meeting will be on March 13, 2018
      in Multimedia Room, Physics Department, IISc

    • 29th Mid-year meeting

      Posted on 19 January 2018

      The 29th Mid-year meeting of the Academy will be held from 29–30 June 2018 in Infosys, Mysuru

    • 84th Annual meeting

      Posted on 19 January 2018

      The 84th Annual meeting of the Academy will be held from 2–4 November 2018 in Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

    • New Fellows and Honorary Fellow

      Posted on 1 January 2018

      List of Fellows and Honorary Fellow elected during 2017 (effective 2018).

    • Upcoming Refresher Courses

      02 to 14 May, 2018
      Ramanujan Institute for Advanced Study in Mathematics, University of Madras

      11 to 25 June, 2018
      Dayanand Science College, Latur (M.S.)

      Experimental Physics
      14 to 29 June, 2018
      Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra, Ranchi

    • In remembrance

      Most recent entry 8 January 2018

      The Academy regrets to report the passing of:

© 2017 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.